A Flawless Wedding & Lessons on Happiness

12 Jun

 

“We have the greatest pre-nuptial agreement in the world.  It’s called love.”  Gene Perret


I’m back! And I’m married – woot, woot! Getting married in the Bahamas was such a beautiful experience. Everything was absolutely perfect. My husband (<– that still looks weird) and I knew that one of the compromises in planning a destination wedding was that we might not have as many guests as we wanted. But we were both over-joyed to see that 28 of our closest family and friends made the long trek to paradise with us to share in our special moment together. All of the love and support we received was incredible. And we all had a ridiculously fun time partying it up after the vows were said and the rings were exchanged. The entire wedding and honeymoon were flawless. And now I’m super excited to be back. I’m renewed, relaxed and ready to keep helping awesome 20-something women live out loud.

We were lucky enough to spend our honeymoon in the Bahamas at a beautiful resort. One of the things that struck me most about the Bahamas was how genuinely happy everyone seemed. At first I thought it was because we were staying at a resort so of course they had to be friendly, but it went beyond that. When we left the resort and explored the island we still found friendly, happy people. Even people who worked jobs that, in this country, breed unhappiness were friendly. Custom officers, the government workers at the marriage office, taxi drivers, waitresses – all happy people. Prior to leaving for our honeymoon, I had read that the Bahamas ranked in the top ten of the happiest countries, according to the Satisfaction with Life Index. In fact, they were ranked #5! I was intrigued. What was their secret? Why were they so happy? Desperate to learn their secret, I asked one of our waitresses one day and her simple reply was, “What’s there not to be happy about?” And I suppose it is that simple, right? For a good chunk of my trip, I was contemplating all of the ways that I could move to the Bahamas so that I could also be truly happy. Of course I could be happy in the Bahamas – it’s paradise. But really what did I have to be unhappy about in my current life? I live in beautiful Southern California, I have a loving family and I can afford to take vacations to tiny island paradises with my new hubby. I’m sure the Bahamians could also find fault with their lives but they choose not to and that is where the difference lies. When I bitch and complain about my job or when I allow the sucky parts of my life to overshadow the fantastic parts, I’m choosing to be unhappy. And being unhappy takes serious effort, does it not? It’s much easier to just be happy. While I was in the Bahamas everything seemed so effortless and unhurried. Life does not have to be so serious. When you strip away all of the extras and the ego and the exaggeration, most of us would probably find that we can ask ourselves the same simple question:

What’s there not to be happy about?



*************************************************************************************

Enjoy this post? There’s more where that came fromSign up for the newsletter or join the Facebook Fan Page!

Calculate out your Joy Equation with Stratejoy’s pay what you can afford program!

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “A Flawless Wedding & Lessons on Happiness”

  1. Heather Rae June 14, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

    Congratulations, Nailah! I’m so happy to hear that your wedding was a wonderful experience. My fiance and I have talked a lot about getting married in Hawaii. There is something beautiful about exchanging vows in paradise, isn’t there? Here’s to your happiness now and in the future!

  2. Marian Schembari June 14, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    Aaahh! Yay! Congrats, girl! Sounds like a wonderful time, glad to have you back! (apparently I really love exclamation points, but this is exciting)

  3. Nailah June 15, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

    Heather – Getting married in Hawaii would be absolutely beautiful. There is definitely something so gorgeous about getting married surrounded by the beauty of nature. Thanks for the congrats!Marian – Lol Thanks for your enthusiasm, exclamation points and all! 🙂

Leave a Reply

