Rock Star Squad: Zoé Zeigler

5 May

The first member of my Rock Star Squad is Zoé Zeigler. I first met Zoé at USC where we both went to school. We reconnected recently over Twitter and I was thrilled to learn that she had started her very own wedding & event planning company. I knew that she would be the perfect person to kick off my new series: The Rock Star Squad.

Tell us a little bit about yourself

Well, I’m a 20-something Southern California native. I graduated from USC in 2007, where I studied communications. By profession I’m a PR pro for an international automotive company, but by passion I’m owner and wedding & event planner at Fabulously Ever After Weddings & Events. If I had to choose three words to describe myself, they would have to be sassy, passionate and independent.

Did you go through a quarter life crisis? How was your transition into the “real world?”

I used to think the notion of quarter-life and mid-life crises was a myth; that was until I had a quarter-life crises of my own. The transition from college to the real world was a piece of cake for me. I had interned all throughout school, so I had my shiny offer letter months before graduation. I had my own place and wonderful friends…I thought I had this thing called “life” figured out.

But about two and a half years later I started feeling really unfulfilled, like something was missing. All the great things I had experienced and accomplished in life started to seem so insignificant and I felt like I needed some sort of drastic life change. I started thinking about chopping off all my hair, moving cross country, changing careers but none of those things seemed like they would get me out of my funk.

How did you overcome your 20-something crisis?

To a certain degree, I think I’m still working through it. I had to realize that this feeling I was having was not something that was going to go away overnight – it was a process I was going to have to work through. I started by trying to better understand myself by asking myself questions about what makes me happy, what am I passionate about, when do I feel most alive and what societal standards am I trying to live up to.

I came to the conclusion that while I had a good life, I wasn’t doing anything that excited me or that I was passionate about. I was sort of following society’s path for success – go to college, get a job, get a promotion, etc. – instead of incorporating something into my life that would truly make me feel fulfilled and happy.

How are you following your dream?

During my “soul searching” I realized two things that really made me happy were seeing people in love and helping people, so I decided to start assisting a wedding planner as she executed events that were centered around both of these things. I was working for free at first, but I didn’t care because I was doing something that was really fun and therapeutic for me. I enjoyed it so much that I decided to branch out and start my own wedding & event planning company, Fabulously Ever After, which I launched earlier this year.

What’s the hardest part about following your dream? What was the easiest?

When I first had the “aha moment” to start my own business doing something I love, I thought everything would just fall into place. I thought the clients and contracts would come immediately and my business would just take off…after all I was chasing my passion. But a few months in, I’m learning that’s not necessarily the case. Success is a journey, not a destination, so I’m learning to enjoy the ride, reward myself for the small achievements, and learn from any missteps along the way.

As for the easiest thing, it’s been finding people that support me and my dreams. My friends and family have been so encouraging, but I’ve also found encouragement through networks and organizations, like the Los Angeles Urban League Young Professionals, that are filled with young entrepreneurs and movers & shakers that inspire and push me to reach my full potential.

Do you have any advice for anyone trying to live life on their own terms?

It’s so easy to become complacent when the checks are coming in, the rent is getting paid and things are going well. But that alone is no way to live life. Whether it’s small or large, step out on a limb and try to incorporate something into your life that excites you and really makes you feel like you have a purpose.

I couldn’t have said it better myself. Thanks Zoé for sharing your inspiring story! Right now Zoé is running an awesome giveaway on her site, www.fabulouslyeverafter.com. Enter now to win FREE wedding planning services for your big day.

Are you taking your life by the reins and living on your own terms? Then I want to feature YOU! Email me – nblades[at]gmail[dot]com – if you’d like to be the next Rock Star in our Squad

5 Responses to “Rock Star Squad: Zoé Zeigler”

  1. Sugar & Spice Event Design May 6, 2010 at 4:21 am #

    Congrats Zoe… Beautiful Article!

  2. Coach Cassandra Rae May 7, 2010 at 4:01 pm #

    Wow…what an inspiring interview! I love what both of you are putting out there. I especially love how Zoe points out that just paying the bills and living by society’s standards is no way to live. So true. I myself went from tax accountant climbing the ladder at Deloitte to fempreneur life coach helping people connect with their Calling. Woohoo!

  3. Nailah May 8, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

    Coach Cassandra – Yes, Zoe did point out some very true things! And kudos to your for following your own calling. Thanks for stopping by.Nailah

  4. Jamie May 21, 2010 at 5:14 pm #

    I love reading about other young women entrepreneurs, so thanks for sharing Zoe’s story. Can’t wait to read more!

  5. Nailah May 21, 2010 at 10:37 pm #

    Jamie – it is always fascinating to hear other people’s stories. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

