Be Bold, Be Fearless.

3 May

“Find something you’re passionate about and keep tremendously interested in it.” –Julia Child

 

My fiancé was out of town for his bachelor party this weekend so I took the opportunity to catch up on some work and – more importantly – catch up on some of the movies/TV shows he wouldn’t normally watch with me. By Sunday, I had had my fill of witty rom-coms and delightfully trashy reality TV yet I decided to cue up Julie & Julia. I am so pleased that I did. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. I didn’t know too much about Julia Childs prior to watching the movie but boy, was she inspiring. She approached life with such gusto. Such fervor. I couldn’t help but smile as she challenged conventional rules and followed her passions. She truly lived her life to the fullest.

I also loved watching Julie’s transformation from bored office worker to a passionate writer. I completely identified with her feelings of despair as she worked day in and day out at a meaningless job while her dreams slipped further and further away. Julie tasked herself with cooking through each one of Julia Child’s 524 recipes in 1 year and started a blog about it. A seemingly simple idea brought her closer to her dream of becoming a “real writer” and also brought her ridiculous amounts of joy. Julie was doing something that was truly important to her and as a result everything else in her life began to fall into place.

Several things struck me about this movie. First, it showed how much can change in a short time if you’re working diligently towards a goal. Julie immersed herself in a project she fully enjoyed, gave herself a deadline and kept at it. She had her pitfalls and plenty of times when she wanted to quit but she kept going and she emerged on the other side a more confident, more fulfilled person. Secondly, I loved the portrayal of an enormously passionate person. Julia Child knew what was important to her and jumped right into it feet first despite the odds being stacked against her. The enthusiasm with which she approached life was infectious and she was able to bounce back after setbacks because she had a clear vision of what she wanted to do.

There were two Julia Child quotes that stood out for me. The first came as Julia was completing her term at the Cordon Bleu in a class full of unfriendly, unsupportive men:

“All of them were unfriendly until they discovered I was fearless!”

Fear is the biggest obstacle standing in the way of our dreams. What fear is holding you back from your dreams? If you were fearless what could be accomplished? Who would you inspire?

My second favorite quote came when Julia first began teaching Americans how to master French cuisine:

“Perfecto! And even if it isn’t, never apologize. No Excuses. No Explanation”

I know I’ve been guilty of not moving forward because I’m stuck on perfect. Instead of obsessing over being perfect – whatever that means anyway – we should all have the confidence to move forward with our projects and big ideas. They may not be perfect, but who cares? Stop apologizing and stop making excuses.

I love when a movie can make you think without hitting you over the head with it. Julie & Julia was a fun, cute movie with an inspirational message: Dream Big & Be Fearless. Loves it.

Until Next Time,

Nailah


Photo Credit: juliachildpictures.com

7 Responses to “Be Bold, Be Fearless.”

  1. Chai May 3, 2010 at 3:16 am #

    LOVED this movie when I watched it about two weeks ago. It really did get the wheels in my head turning, glad you turned it into such a great post!Must re-watch & take more careful notes..!

  2. Heather Rae May 4, 2010 at 12:12 am #

    Loved this post! I seriously needed to hear this today. 🙂 And I’ve been wanting to watch that movie and wondered if it would be worth it. You’ve convinced me that I’m definitely going to enjoy it – I look forward to it. (Don’t you love when significant others are out of town and you have a chance to catch up on all the girlie shows? I did something similar this weekend, and spent an entire day watching Gilmore Girls reruns – loved it!)

  3. Nailah May 4, 2010 at 4:43 am #

    Chai – wasn’t it inspiring? I was so happy that I watched it. Thanks for the comment!Heather – I think you would really enjoy this movie. I’m really glad that this post spoke to you. And it is totally great when significant others are away and I can be a big girly girl! N-

  4. Natalie May 4, 2010 at 8:03 pm #

    I need to watch this movie! It sounds very inspiring. I’m also trying to give myself a goal to work towards over the next year, instead of just quitting my job and jumping into the unknown. If I can build something up over the next year, I think that could be an amazing feeling and give me the work ethic I need to really work for myself!Also, your thoughts near the end about not being afraid that it won’t be perfect remind me so much of a video by Ze Frank, about what he calls "Brain Crack". That’s when you get a good idea, but you convince yourself that you won’t be able to execute your good idea perfectly right now, so you just keep thinking about how great it would be without ever actually doing it. He says: "Some people get addicted to that brain crack. And the longer they wait, the more they convince themselves of how perfectly that idea should be executed. And they imagine it on a beautiful platter with glitter and rose petals. And everyone’s clapping for them. But the bummer is most ideas kinda suck when you do ’em. And no matter how much you plan you still have to do something for the first time. And you’re almost guaranteed the first time you do something it’ll blow. But somebody who does something bad three times still has three times the experience of that other person who’s still dreaming of all the applause."I try to remember this every day and not be afraid of executing my ideas!

  5. Nailah May 5, 2010 at 10:51 pm #

    Natalie – Great comment! I love the idea of brain crack and can totally identify with that. It’s so easy to get stuck on perfect and end up never doing anything at all. Thanks for providing such great insight!Nailah

  6. Jamie May 21, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

    I haven’t seen the movie, but I enjoyed reading your post.Like you, I sometimes get caught up in everything being perfect, and that causes me to be a little afraid of really going after what I want in life. Fortunately, I am getting better at just feeling the fear and doing it anyway. I like the end of your post: Dream Big & Be Fearless. I think this will be my new motto Lol.

  7. Nailah May 21, 2010 at 10:38 pm #

    Jamie – Feeling the fear and doing it anyway sounds so simple but is incredibly hard, isn’t it? But definitely, definitely worth it. Thanks for the great comment! I hope you do use that as your new motto!

Leave a Reply

