Inspiration Following a Slump

21 Apr

I have been having one of those weeks. You know what I’m talking about, right? One of those weeks where the whole world seems stacked against you. Nothing seems to go as planned and you’re spit out at the end of the week feeling lost, frustrated and defeated. That is exactly how I’ve been feeling – and it’s only Wednesday.

What’s been frustrating me is that I feel held hostage by my day job. My day job is not a job I particularly enjoy – it’s not terrible but I’m also not jumping out of bed to get there each day. However it has been serving a purpose. It’s all a part of my plan to stockpile enough money while I concentrate on the things that do make me jump out of bed each day. It’s a means to an ends. But lately, it’s been getting increasingly more difficult for me to see it as just that. I’m getting more frustrated with the mindless tasks, I’m having a harder time getting excited about my job and I’m having to literally drag myself out of bed each morning. I’m hitting a wall. And not a plush carpeted wall (do they still make those?) A brick one. The worst thing is that my frustration is causing me to lose focus on the big picture. I’m often so exhausted when I get home that I have a hard time working on the projects I do enjoy.

I had been feeling pretty crappy and then I read this post by Chris Guilleau, Your Backup Plan is Your Plan, in which he writes that sometimes having a back-up plan interferes with your Plan A. And it struck me – I had been focusing entirely too much on my back-up plan. I was allowing my Plan B to become my Plan Everything. I have this safety net which is allowing me to be safe and not be bold and not take risks and not be hungry for new opportunities. Quite frankly I feel like I’ve gotten lazy. And that’s the worst thing. I can’t sit here on my bloggy soapbox and tell you all to live out loud and be adventurous if I’m not doing it myself.

So no, I’m not going to quit my day job tomorrow. But what I am going to do is focus on my end goal, stick to my plan and be aggressive about what needs to be done to get there. It’s time for me to start walking my talk. It’s time for me to start kicking some ass.

Until Next Time,

Nailah

 

5 Responses to “Inspiration Following a Slump”

  1. Ms. Mary Mack April 21, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

    Hear, hear! Good for you, Nailah. I like this post–it’s got fire behind it. Definitely keep us all posted on how this renewed focus on the end goal works out. I know I’m rooting for ya. The "Nailah’s Gonna Kick Butt" Fan Club? The line starts here!

  2. Eran April 21, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    Way to go girl!! It’s awful to feel like you’re being held hostage in any situation, job or otherwise, so kudos to you for kicking your back-up plan to the curb! 🙂

  3. Nailah April 21, 2010 at 11:34 pm #

    Ms.Mack – Thanks for the support! I just feel like it’s time to break out of this slump and stop relying on my back-up plan so muchEran – Thanks! You definitely inspired me with your own putting it all out there post. We’ll have to keep each other accountable.

  4. Chai April 22, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    This hit home on so many levels…I’m sitting in my ‘office’ just thinking how similar your story is with mine. Thank You for writing such an honest post!!…Here’s to you living out your dreams, flourishing beyond even your own expectations, & ultimately being happy;-)!

  5. Nailah April 22, 2010 at 6:29 pm #

    Chai – Thank you! I’m happy to hear that this post struck a chord with you. Sometimes it’s hard to just put it all out there and so I’m quite pleased to know that other people can relate to how I’m feeling. Good luck to you too on all of your endeavors!N-

Leave a Reply

