Birthday Musings & My Life List

29 Mar

And in the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.-Abraham Lincoln

 

I turned 26 on Saturday (woot, woot) and had a beautiful, relaxing fun-filled day. I also had some time to just sit and reflect on the past year and what I was looking forward to from the upcoming year. I thought back to my 25th birthday last year and remembered feeling nervous and anxious in the weeks leading up to my big day. I felt like I should have accomplished much more than I had at 25 and basically felt like a big failure. Throughout the year, I came to the realization that I was freaking out over someone else’s definition of success. More importantly, I had in fact accomplished a lot in my short 25 years, I just wasn’t giving myself any credit for it. This birthday was much different. I feel incredibly excited about the upcoming year and all the great things that are in store for me. And so, in honor of my 26th birthday and the fun-filled year I have coming up, I created my list of 20 Things to do Before I Turn 27:

  1. Refresh my French
  2. Complete a Triathlon
  3. Get to 100 Subscribers on my blog
  4. Begin writing my book
  5. Get another tattoo
  6. Visit Napa Valley

  7. Travel to a state I’ve never been to before
  8. Begin booking speaking gigs
  9. Create a decluttered work space for myself
  10. Sign up for non-fiction writing courses
  11. Learn & practice family recipes
  12. Start hiking the California mountains with my fiance
  13. Launch a new workshop series
  14. Road trip to the Redwood National Park in Humboldt
  15. Volunteer regularly with a non-profit focused on children or women
  16. Keep a consistent journal
  17. Take a vacation with no itinerary & no plan – just wake up each morning and decide what to do
  18. Redecorate a room in my house
  19. Go snorkeling
  20. Host more dinner parties

Just reading through this list makes me ridiculously excited for the upcoming year. I can’t wait to start crossing items off the list and learning from all the fun new experiences. Now it’s important for me to begin making plans to check things off my list. I know that I’ll have to start saving some money, booking some plane tickets and carving out time and I’d rather get that started sooner rather than later. I’ll be sure to keep you posted as I begin diving into some of these adventures. Wish me luck!

Do you have a life list or bucket list? What’s on yours?

Until Next Time,

Nailah

5 Responses to “Birthday Musings & My Life List”

  1. Heather Rae March 29, 2010 at 3:11 am #

    Happy Birthday to a fellow Aries! I love your list. If you’re ever interested in collaborating on one of those fabulous projects of yours (workshops, writing, etc.), let me know. I really love your stuff! 🙂 Here’s to a great year!!

  2. Ms. Mary Mack March 29, 2010 at 3:35 am #

    What a fine list. I have no doubt that you will cross everything off and add even more to it. Instead of wishing you luck (you don’t need it), I will say enjoy every step!

  3. RemaAtWork March 29, 2010 at 6:18 am #

    Number 2 should be only a list all by itself "20 Kick Ass and Owtrageous Things to do before 27"

  4. Stephanie March 29, 2010 at 6:08 pm #

    Wow that’s a lot to do in one year. I may attempt to keep up. I have a few months before my 26th to come up with a list of things. PS no. 12 should be husband.

  5. Nailah March 30, 2010 at 1:27 am #

    Heather – Thanks & Happy Birthday to you too! I would love to talk about collaborating with you. I’ll definitely shoot your an email :)Ms. Mack – I’m looking forward to crossing each item off. Thanks for the encouragementRemaAtWork – I love the idea of giving my list a spicier name!Stephanie – If you come up with your list, let me know! We can support each other throughout the year. And I’ll definitely change it to husband…in May! 🙂

Leave a Reply

