Fake It ‘Til You Make It!

25 Mar

“Act as though you know what you are doing, and success will follow”

 

I started a natural bath & body company in March of 2008. I had no clue what I was getting myself into. Of course, being the analytical person that I am, I did oodles upon oodles of research prior to launching. I took entrepreneurship courses and I signed up for Ladies who Launch. But I still faced a tremendous learning curve when it came to not only manufacturing a product line but also the day to day aspects of running a business. Oftentimes I was faced with issues or questions that I had never dreamed of confronting, so I did the only thing I could think of doing – I faked it. I pretended that I was the most knowledgeable business person, I answered beauty questions with the best of them, I presented at craft fairs and trade shows. On the outside I was a cool and collected bath & body manufacturer. On the inside, I felt like a fraud. I thought, surely one of these people is going to call me out for the imposter that I am; there’s no way I can continue to get away with this! Eventually an amazing thing happened. I realized I was faking it much less. As time went on, I actually did know what I was talking about. I found myself answering questions in natural product forums rather than frantically asking them. I knew my sh*t.

No matter how much research and brainstorming you do prior to starting something new, there will always be things you don’t know. Heck, I’ll venture to say there will be a whole lot of things you don’t know.  Eventually you just have to jump in and get your hands – and your feet and your face – dirty. And that means, yes, you’re going to have to fake it a little bit ‘til you make it. But don’t worry about it; everyone else is faking it too, hoping that they don’t get found out. Pushing ourselves out of our comfort zones is what makes starting a new project exciting. Once you do arrive as an expert, it’ll feel unbelievable to look back on the days when you had no idea what you were talking about and see just how far you’ve come.

Have you ever faked it ‘til you made it? How did it feel when you realize you no longer had to fake it anymore?

Until Next Time,

Nailah



3 Responses to “Fake It ‘Til You Make It!”

  1. Heather Rae March 26, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

    Great post, Nailah! It’s awesome to hear about your own experience ‘faking it’ – and really great to know that, with time, you start to feel like less of a fraud. For me, I’m in the middle of faking it right now. I’m writing a novel and working on a few other projects that are entirely new to me. It’s scary, but it’s also fun. I’m just hoping one of these days, I’ll wake up to realize I’m not faking it so much anymore. 🙂

  2. Lizzie March 26, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

    Great post! I’m starting out on a new path at the moment and this is definitely an approach I will be adopting!

  3. Nailah March 26, 2010 at 8:46 pm #

    @Heather Trust me, you definitely don’t look like you’re faking it! We’re always are toughest critics@Lizzie Glad to hear that this is helpful for you. Wishing you the best of luck on your new path!

Leave a Reply

