How To Deflect a Deflator

15 Feb

“That’s my gift. I let that negativity roll off me like water off a duck’s back. If it’s not positive, I didn’t hear it. If you can overcome that, fights are easy.” -George Foreman

Do you have someone in your life who is a “deflator?” You know what I’m talking about – those people who when you tell them super exciting news, they pull out a pin and burst your bubble. It may go something like this:

You: Hey guess what – I’ve decided to write a novel! I’m so excited!

Deflator: Really? Man, there are so many people out there writing novels nowadays. It’s basically impossible to get published.

You: Oh. Umm.  I guess you’re right.

You’ve been deflated. All of the excitement and joy you had surrounding your idea or accomplishment has been sucked out of you. I’ve read lots of advice that you should just cut negative types of people out of your life but this can be easier said than done. I have a few deflators in my life and while their behavior can be draining and discouraging, they’re not terrible people. Instead of completely cutting them out of my life, I’ve changed my reaction to those who try to deflate me.

Simply develop a positive wall. You know that your accomplishment or your new idea is awesome. You know that you thought it through logically and realistically and that you deserve praise for it. Don’t allow someone else to tarnish that for you. Be prepared to deflect their negative comments. Dull their pin with your positive and confident spirit.

It can be difficult to not let deflators get you down. But it’s much easier to deflect their negativity than to take it on and let it consume you. It’s also helpful to surround yourself with a supportive network whose opinion you can trust. So the next time you run into a deflator just keep your head up, put up your positive wall and deflect away.

Until Next Time,

Nailah



Leave a Reply

